The Day Is My Enemy

The Day Is My Enemy is the sixth studio album by The Prodigy.

The Day Is My Enemy
01. 4:26 The Day Is My Enemy
02. 4:03 Nasty
03. 3:52 Rebel Radio
04. 2:46 Ibiza
05. 4:29 Destroy
06. 4:28 Wild Frontier
07. 3:51 Rok-Weiler
08. 3:09 Beyond The Deathray
09. 4:12 Rhythm Bomb
10. 5:01 Roadblox
11. 3:39 Get Your Fight On
12. 3:56 Medicine
13. 4:16 Invisible Sun
14. 4:04 Wall Of Death


Limited Edition Deluxe 3LP Vinyl Box
Full colour rigid 12x12 card box with lift off lid to include the following exclusive items:
3 x 180gram 12’s cut at 45 rpm. 
Individual Red, yellow and black vinyl LPs in printed inner sleeves
3D Lenticular 12 x 12 sized print of the album cover 
36” x 24” full colour double sided poster (folded) 
12x12 credit sheet
Includes an instant download of the track 'Nasty' upon pre-order.
Download card for Lossless files

The Day Is My Enemy is the sixth studio album by The Prodigy. It was released in 30 March 2015 by record labels Take Me to the Hospital/Cooking Vinyl in the UK and Three Six Zero Music/Warner Bros. Records in the United States. Recorded across a timespan of six years, the album marks the first time that band members Maxim and Keith Flint have been actively involved in the songwriting process.

The album title is a reference to the Cole Porter song "All Through the Night", in particular its lyrics "the day is my enemy, the night my friend", although it is the Ella Fitzgerald version that first inspired the title track. Liam Howlett has stated in some interviews that this will be the band's final studio album as they're switching focus to releasing EPs from now on. We'll see if that's true since Liam has stated this after 2 last albums and still released new ones.

The first known existence of new material from The Prodigy came in 2011 when the band debuted new tracks at their live performances. The first two of these tracks were "A.W.O.L." and "Dogbite", with 2012 yielding a new track called "Jetfighter". Liam Howlett had reaffirmed that the new album would be "darker" in contrast to their previous releases. On 3 May 2012, the tentative album title was revealed as How to Steal a Jetfighter. On 2 July 2014, The Prodigy announced that the album was to be re-introduced with a brand new name.

The second working title of the album was Rebel Radio until it underwent another change. Howlett explained that this was because he had a hard time imagining it working as an album title, and instead settled on making that the title of one of the album tracks.

The album was written and recorded largely while on tour, in various hotel rooms around the world, on flights and at The Prodigy's private studio at Tileyard Studios. Howlett found that "violent is the word that keeps on coming up" when describing the album. The entire recording process took almost six years taking in a number of studios and a few restarts to establish that "angry, energetic sound". Unlike previous efforts The Day Is My Enemy became a band-album where Flint and Maxim worked in tandem with Howlett. This created a degree of friction although Flint noted that "four years ago we sat down and talked about where the next album was gonna go, and we knew we had to bust out the most ‘band’ album we could create".

The original tracklist

When this album was originally announced, a different tracklisting leaked off from the official site. After that the track order was changed and Rise Of The Eagles was dropped from the original release. Later it was released as a bonus track.

01 Beyond The Deathray
02 Destroy
03 Wild Frontier
04 Rebel Radio
05 Medicine
06 Nasty Nasty
07 Wall Of Death
08 I Need A Rhythm
09 Get UR Fight On
10 Rock-Weiler
11 Road Blocks
12 Rise Of The Eagles
13 Ibiza....Blaaaaa


“The most exciting - and most angrily British - album of the year” – Kerrang! KKKKK (Classic)

"the strongest and most confident Prodigy album since 'The Fat Of The Land'” - NME 8/10

"They've done it again, and you can't help but love them for it" - Album Of The Month – Mixmag 8/10

“Bigger, better and crazier with every track” – Zoo 4/5

“Snarling electronic bass and beats” – Uncut 7/10

Related articles

| Golden Plec
The Prodigy - Interview

| Mondo Sonoro
En modo ataque

| Universal Audio
Producer Neil McLellan mixes The Prodigy with UAD plug-ins

The Prodigy Interview: On Anger, The Election And Why Electronic Music's "Not Good Enough Anymore"

| Spin Magazine
Q&A: The Prodigy Look Back on the Most Aggressive Career in Electronic History

| The Yorkshire Post
Music interview: The Prodigy bide their time to create latest album

| Brag
Furious hearts

| Entertainment Weekly
The Prodigy's Liam Howlett on the state of EDM: 'Everything seems to have gone a bit soft'

| The Guardian
The Prodigy go straight in the albums charts at No 1

| DJ Mag
The Prodigy: The prodigal sons

| Daily Record
Electro trailblazers The Prodigy return with The Day Is My Enemy to reclaim big bass drops from Pop

| The Music
Night crawlers

| London Evening Standard
Dance DJs? The Prodigy’s sixth album will wipe the floor with them, says Liam Howlett

| Billboard
Exclusive: The Prodigy Signs With Warner Bros. Imprint Three Six Zero Music in the U.S.

Reviews in the press

| Disposable Media
The Prodigy: The Day Is My Enemy (Expanded Edition) Review

| Rockzone
The Day is My Enemy review

| Hot Press
The Prodigy - The Day Is My Enemy

| State.
The Prodigy – The Day Is My Enemy

| Gigslutz
ALBUM: The Prodigy ‘The Day Is My Enemy’

| Mojo
Nocturnal mission

See also

What Evil Lurks EP

What Evil Lurks


Charly Single



Everybody In The Place Single

Everybody In The Place


Fire Single



Experience Album



Out of Space Single

Out of Space


WInd It Up Single

WInd It Up


One Love Single

One Love


No Good (Start The Dance) Single

No Good (Start The Dance)


Music For The Jilted Generation Album

Music For The Jilted Generation


Voodoo People Single

Voodoo People


Poison Single



Firestarter Single



Breathe Single



The Fat Of The Land Album

The Fat Of The Land


Smack My Bitch Up Single

Smack My Bitch Up


Prodigy Present: The Dirtchamber Sessions Volume One Compilation

Prodigy Present: The Dirtchamber Sessions Volume One


The Prodigy Experience - Expanded: Remixes & B-sides Compilation

The Prodigy Experience - Expanded: Remixes & B-sides


Baby's Got A Temper EP

Baby's Got A Temper


Always Outnumbered Never Outgunned Album

Always Outnumbered Never Outgunned


Girls Single



Hotride Single



Spitfire Single



Their Law: The Singles 1990–2005 Compilation

Their Law: The Singles 1990–2005


Voodoo People / Out Of Space Single

Voodoo People / Out Of Space


Back To Mine Compilation

Back To Mine


More Music For The Jilted Generation Compilation

More Music For The Jilted Generation


Invaders Must Die Album

Invaders Must Die


Omen Single



Warrior's Dance Single

Warrior's Dance


Take Me To The Hospital Single

Take Me To The Hospital


Invaders Must Die EP EP

Invaders Must Die EP


The Added Fat EP EP

The Added Fat EP


Nasty Single



Wild Frontier Single

Wild Frontier


Ibiza Single



The Night Is My Friend EP EP

The Night Is My Friend EP


Need Some1 Single

Need Some1


No Tourists Album

No Tourists


Light Up The Sky Single

Light Up The Sky


The Fat Of The Land 25th Anniversary - Remixes EP

The Fat Of The Land 25th Anniversary - Remixes


World's on Fire Compilation

World's on Fire


Jump to official releases main | discography main | Prodigy main
The Prodigy 34 pcs sticker set

Huge set of The Prodigy stickers. 17 different designs (2 of each) and total of 34 stickers. Sticker sizes vary from 7 cm to 3,5 cm. Order here >