• Keith Flint - The Lollies
    A posthumously released Keith Flint solo track is now officially available! Read more
  • NME Awards 2020: Watch Leo Crabtree pay emotional tribute to Keith Flint
    The Prodigy‘s long time live drummer Leo Crabtree led a tribute to Keith Flint at the NME Awards 2020, last night. Read more
  • Maxim releases a new solo album
    The Prodigy's Maxim's 3rd solo album “Love More” will be released in Japan on December 4th. Read more
  • Rare Keith's tour outfit on sale on forum
    Theprodigy.info visitor and a fan is selling an outfit once owned by Keith Flint. Read more
  • Keith Flint dead at 49
    The iconic frontman was found dead at his home. All love and sympathy goes out to his family, friends and all fans across the world at this sad time. Read more


What Evil Lurks

The very first release ever!

The first demo Liam produced was an EP called What Evil Lurks in 1990. Liam originally offered this tune to Tam Tam Records. As Liam had previously been in Cut 2 Kill, who had signed a deal with Tam Tam, he decided to offer it to them. They refused. The first release by The Prodigy consists of 4 tracks from the 10 track demo he gave to XL. This included an early version of Everybody in The Place. It was alot slower and much more empty than the final incarnation on Experience, showing us how many times Liam writes and rewrites a track before he's happy with it.

Using a single Roland W-30 Liam created most of the EP by simply assigning the various samples and drum loops to each of the W-30's channels, and mixed down to tape.

The title sample "What Evil Lurks in the hearts of men" is taken from the 40s radio series "The Shadow" and you can thrill to your very own "Come on y'all" The bleeping noises that you can heard on Android are actually the W30's internal voices.

No promotional copies of What Evil Lurks were released by XL-Recordings on either vinyl or CD. Only ten acetate white label 12 inches were pressed to promote this EP.

XL Recordings once let Android be issued to a Dutch dance music compilation Order to Dance III, which is the only official way to get the track on CD. None of the other three What Evil Lurks EP tracks are available on CD officially.

At the time Liam must have been a little fond of this song, as when asked to do an XL Recordings mix for a free cover cassette for DJ magazine, he played this as the only Prodigy track in a five tracks DJ mix of XL acts, sandwiched between The Flowmasters' Let It Take Control and Jonny L's Ansaphone.

After this EP came Charly and everyone knows the rest.

Beware for fakes!

There are some whitelabel fakes going round nowadays! The whitelabel looks exactly the same as the original item apart from a few small differences:
- plain black sleeve
- Android is typed Androids
- XL-logo is slighty different than original
- there isn't a name engraved into the vinyl like with the original one ("THE EXCHANGE")

'What Evil Lurks' EP was evetually re-released in 2004. Only difference is the catalogue number XLXV1501 (on the original release XLT-17). Tracklisting is the same. The sleeve itself is slightly different (15th anniversary sleeves). Some vinyls came with a black sticker on the front.

See also

No Tourists Album

No Tourists


Experience Album



Music For The Jilted Generation Album

Music For The Jilted Generation


The Fat Of The Land Album

The Fat Of The Land


Always Outnumbered Never Outgunned Album

Always Outnumbered Never Outgunned


Invaders Must Die Album

Invaders Must Die


The Day Is My Enemy Album

The Day Is My Enemy


Need Some1 Single

Need Some1


Ibiza Single



Wild Frontier Single

Wild Frontier


The Day Is My Enemy (Expanded Edition) Single

The Day Is My Enemy (Expanded Edition)


The Night Is My Friend EP EP

The Night Is My Friend EP


More Music For The Jilted Generation Album

More Music For The Jilted Generation


Their Law: The Singles 1990–2005 Compilation

Their Law: The Singles 1990–2005


The Added Fat EP EP

The Added Fat EP


Prodigy Present: The Dirtchamber Sessions Volume One Compilation

Prodigy Present: The Dirtchamber Sessions Volume One


The Prodigy Experience - Expanded: Remixes & B-sides Compilation

The Prodigy Experience - Expanded: Remixes & B-sides


Light Up The Sky Single

Light Up The Sky


Nasty Single



Back To Mine Compilation

Back To Mine


Invaders Must Die EP EP

Invaders Must Die EP


Smack My Bitch Up Single

Smack My Bitch Up


Warrior's Dance Single

Warrior's Dance


Omen Single



Baby's Got A Temper EP

Baby's Got A Temper


Firestarter Single



Everybody In The Place Single

Everybody In The Place


Fire Single



Take Me To The Hospital Single

Take Me To The Hospital


Girls Single



Breathe Single



Jump to official releases main | discography main | Prodigy main