The Castbreeder The Castbreeder

The Castbreeder

This album is a HOAX! It was released near the end of 1998 and was made to seem like a proper XL Recordings release, but there are many things that make clear this isn't a genuine record. The bootleggers wanted to make CD looks like Liam Howlett's solo DJ mix CD, cause it was released just before the original Dirtchamber release. But the fact is that it has absolutely nothing to do with the Prodigy. Althought it's been made to look very authentic, with a barcode, record label logos, XL catalogue number and a copyright note. The music featured inside, is just knocked up by an amateur music maker. It mostly contains tracks from Junkie XL's "Saturday Teenage Kick" album and Lunatic Calm's "Metropol".. According to various people's reports, the music isn't bad, but it's clearly not Prodigy and it doesn't have the well-known Prodigy energy. 


01. 03:43 Castbreeder (single version)
02. 02:51 Collapse
03. 06:22 144
04. 06:29 Many, Many, Many, Many, Many, people (Live at Noorderslag)
05. 03:15 Castl road
06. 03:19 Fuzz fucking
07. 05:05 Disco to face
08. 04:40 Bungalow's island
09. 09:51 Aluminium jazz
10. 07:00 Abnormal bunx
11. 04:28 Junky's cinder


A1 Castbreeder (Single Version)
A2 Many, Many, Many, Many, Many People (Live At Noorderslag)
A3 Castl Road
A4 Disco To Face
A5 Aluminium Jazz
B1 Collapse
B2 144
B3 Buzz Fucking
B4 Bungalow's Island
B5 Abnormal Bunx
B6 Junky's Cider

Total running time: 57:05
Language: English
Country of origin: Russia

Original tracks:

01. Lunatic Calm - Fuze & Junkie XL - Dealing With The Roster
02. Junkie XL - War
03. Junkie XL - No Remorse
04. Junkie XL - Fight (Live at Noorderslag)
05. Lunatic Calm - Leave You Far Behind
06. Junkie XL - X-Panding Limits
07. Junkie XL - Bustin' Like This
08. Junkie XL - Def Beat
09. Junkie XL - Mulu
10. Lunatic Calm - The Sound
11. Junkie XL - Underachievers

It's almost sure that the CD originated from Russia, although some people argued with it. "Although it sold the low price (in fact about 1.5 dollars on a special market) the quality of the CD is VERY, no EXTREMELY high... This market is famous for it's very low priced and rather high qualitied CDs... For there 1.5 dollars you can buy a pirate copy of "The fat of the land" and all of the CDs available now. So, the CD is very high qualitied - on a mirror surface of it there is a unused data ring (outer ring) and there you can find a prodigy logotype (!) The On-CD polygraphy is very good too... The fact that the album is fake is seen quite vividly - XL recordings label logotype is not correct, the design is rather weak, the "thanx to" text is taken from "the music for the jilted generation". The music recorded there is various breakbeat, unusual. Some of the songs are really worth listening, for example "Castl Road", but - that's not Prodigy! There's an element of unity between songs which proves it was the solid album before. For example there's a "Buy wemen of choice" sample repeated throughout the CD. "

These are the facts that give away this hoax album!

1. The record label it was supposedly released from, is Elektra. Looks like the bootleggers forgot that Prodigy were dumped by US label Elektra over four years ago!

2. XL's logo used on the CD is the old rectangular one, last used by them way back in early 1996. XL now employ a circular logo.

3. The 1998 copyright notice may look authentic, but, it's assigned to Elektra. See fact #1.

4. Catalogue number is XLCD 115. Given that Prodigy's last album, Fat Of The Land, had the number XLCD 121, it would appear that the  bootleggers are working backwards in time! Also, the XLCDxxx number  isn't used by US Prodigy CDs.

5. One of the tracks distinctly sounds like 'Leave You Far Behind', by British band Lunatic Calm. This track was used by Lucozade for its   famous Keith-parody TV commercial.

6. No official website with any authority verifies it. (XL and Prodigy)

Info by: Juge/Sentinel/EN

If you know something else about this record/release, please mail to me or contact me via feedback form.
Jump to fakes main | discography main | Prodigy main
The Prodigy 34 pcs sticker set

Huge set of The Prodigy stickers. 17 different designs (2 of each) and total of 34 stickers. Sticker sizes vary from 7 cm to 3,5 cm. Order here >